Hockey World Cup Past Winners

The Men’s Ice Hockey Championship is an international ice hockey competition organized by the International Ice Hockey Federation. The first competition was held in 1971 and since then it has been held every four years and during the Summer Olympics. Competition began to bring the sport to the international level as a competitive sport and was limited to the Summer Olympics every four years.

The last Ice Hockey World Championship (13th edition) was held in 2014 in The Hague, Netherlands. Australia won the 2014 Ice Hockey World Cup after defeating the Netherlands in the final. The 14th Ice Hockey World Cup 2018 started on November 28 and lasted until December 16 in Bhubaneswar (Odisha, India). Belgium won the 2018 Ice Hockey World Cup when they defeated the Netherlands 3-2 after a 0-0 draw in the final.

Pakistan and India supported the idea of Hockey World Cup as early as 1969 and it took two years to complete and Spain hosted the first tournament and Pakistan became the first world champion.

Most Successful Team In Hockey World Cup:

Pakistan is the most successful team, having won the tournament four times in the history of the World Cup. While the Netherlands and Australia won three titles, Germany won two. Both Belgium and India have won the tournament once.

As hockey moved from natural grass to artificial surfaces, Pakistan’s iconic look began to fade. In the last 35 years, only an Asian team has won the World Cup and that was Pakistan in 1994. Before that, four of the first five World Cups were won by small national teams (3 from Pakistan and 1 from India).

  • The winners of the final global Cup of Hockey (1971-2018) can be found below.